Marriage License Requirements

license

Marriage License Requirements
You may obtain a marriage license in any county in Arizona as long as your wedding will take place in Arizona. Cost is $76.00 (subject to change). Cash is accepted at all locations and some locations accept checks with proper identification. Check with the office near you for specifics.

Both the Bride and the Groom must be present to apply. No blood test or physical examinations are required. There is no waiting period; you may marry immediately upon the issuance of the license. The license expires one year from the date of issuance.

If you are in the process of getting a divorce, by Arizona law, you may apply for a marriage license even if the divorce is not final. To be legally married, the divorce must be final and secured in the state where it is granted.

Age 16-17 year olds need a notarized parental consent form signed by their parents. The parents may accompany them, present proper identification and sign the parental consent form in front of the clerk issuing the license. 15 year olds or younger need a notarized parental consent form mentioned above in addition to a court order.

Effective August 21, 1998, Arizona created a new type of marriage called a “covenant marriage”. This type of marriage does not replace the kind of marriage already available but gives another option. The covenant marriage requires both people to do everything possible to save their marriage if, and when, problems arise. To enter into this type of marriage, the couple must have premarital counseling from a marriage counselor or a member of the clergy. When applying for a marriage license, the couple must show their intentions to enter into a covenant marriage by both signing a declaration on the application form. A legal separation or divorce in a covenant marriage may be granted by the court for particular reasons as stated in the law. If you have questions about covenant marriage, please ask a premarital counselor, a member of the clergy, or a legal advisor.

Marriage License Offices (you may also call a justice court near you which may issue marriage licenses too):
*Denotes locations currently offering the covenant marriages



Prescott*

Yavapai County Courthouse, 2nd Floor
928-771-3312
Monday – Friday, 8:00 – 5:00

Phoenix*

601 W. Jackson Avenue
602-506-3369
Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 8:00 – 4:45
Tuesday, Thursday, 8:00 – 5:45



Mesa*

222 East Javelina
480-506-2124
Monday – Friday, 8:00 – 4:45

Scottsdale

City Clerk
3939 Civic Center Boulevard
480-994-2412
Tuesday, Thursday, 9:00 – 4:00

Chandler

City Clerk
55 North Arizona Place, Suite 203
480-786-2230
Monday – Thursday, 8:00 – 4:30



Flagstaff *


200 N San Francisco Street
928-779-6535
Monday – Friday, 8:00 – 5:00



Tucson *

110 West Congress, Room 131A
520-740-3210